Fordmods Logo

EF transmission, what other transmissions fit? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: EF transmission, what other transmissions fit?
Posted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 9:14 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 3

Joined: 14th Jul 2008

Location: laidley
QLD, Australia

could someone please tell me what other transmissions fit an ef fairmont, been told from an x-model on, if so do these fit straight in or are mods needed, any help would be great, thanks.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 11:12 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 1966

Joined: 13th Aug 2005

Ride: 2000 Au wagon

Location: some where in nsw
NSW, Australia

any four speed box from ea to el will fit,i have an el box in my ea.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 1:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2098

Joined: 19th Jan 2005

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: 5L 5 speed Fairmont Ghia

Location: St Maoris
NSW, Australia

If you have an EF/EL gearbox, they are a straight fit. AU gearboxes should fit, provided that you use the EF bellhousing (well, it works the oter way around. My dad has an EF1 auto in his AU)

 

_________________

Remember kids, the more pages of crap in your build thread, the bigger your e-penis is

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 3:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3184

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

just curious, why?

is your current auto about to cark it or something?

 

_________________

Nicco's M112 Blown, T-56 equipped EF
forums/viewtopic.php?t=68319

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 3:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

I will have an ED Auto that will work coming out of my car very soon. Will even be full of oil (I hope!). It was rebuilt appx. 2 years ago and hasnt had an incredibly hard life. Its currently in an EF.

It does have an AU bellhousing on it at the moment, but changing the bellhousing over is the easy part.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 3:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3184

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

^^^ lol, beat me to it.

I have a lovely condition EF auto which I have just pulled out of my car for sale currently. Just take a squiz in the link in my sig! :lol:

 

_________________

Nicco's M112 Blown, T-56 equipped EF
forums/viewtopic.php?t=68319

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 4:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 581

Joined: 5th Mar 2007

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF Fairmont AU Falcon FG XR6

Location: Eastern Suburbs,VIC
VIC, Australia

yea im after a gearbox also

i had the same question

but i got 1 more im thinking 5speed boxes is there any that would fit i understand that i will have to use a ef bellhousing

i also got a ef mont

 

_________________

My Fairmont

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 11:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 1998

Joined: 31st Dec 2007

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: xc wag's, tnklane wag's

Location: Munruben
QLD, Australia

Well where on this topic, is the bellhousing on a manual box off a 3.9 ea, a straight bolt to an ef 4.0?

 

_________________

Signature removed by moderator.signature must not exceed 120x500 pixles

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 15, 2008 12:00 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3184

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

yes. all the e series t5 bellhousings are the same

 

_________________

Nicco's M112 Blown, T-56 equipped EF
forums/viewtopic.php?t=68319

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 15, 2008 8:24 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 3

Joined: 14th Jul 2008

Location: laidley
QLD, Australia

nicco wrote:
just curious, why?

is your current auto about to cark it or something?



chronic slipping between changes, fluid and levels seem fine, aint got time for service/repairs, just need the quickest fix, thanks for the replys too.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 15, 2008 11:26 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 1072

Joined: 6th Jul 2006

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: BA Falcon

Power: 106 rwkw

Location: Craigmore
SA, Australia

throw in a shift kit as a temp fix till you find a box to put in.... done that before to firm the shifts up before replaceing it.... heaps of fun after you replace it too :P

 

_________________

2003 BA Falcon Egas Taxi Pack - XR Replica
Tpak MKII Build Thread

1984 ZL Fairlane
The Project

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 15, 2008 11:39 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3184

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

tattooze wrote:
nicco wrote:
just curious, why?

is your current auto about to cark it or something?



chronic slipping between changes, fluid and levels seem fine, aint got time for service/repairs, just need the quickest fix, thanks for the replys too.


is the fluid clean? if it is dirty and burnt it will slip a lot as well.

giving the tranny a service is a hell of a lot quicker than putting a new tranny in

 

_________________

Nicco's M112 Blown, T-56 equipped EF
forums/viewtopic.php?t=68319

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 15, 2008 9:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 581

Joined: 5th Mar 2007

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF Fairmont AU Falcon FG XR6

Location: Eastern Suburbs,VIC
VIC, Australia

how easy you recon it is to wack a 6speed auto into a ef from a ba

from what i was told theres 6speed autos in some ba models

 

_________________

My Fairmont

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 15, 2008 9:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3184

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

^^^ its pretty bloody difficult actually. the electronics side of it will be the killer. physically fitting might not be too big a problem. i have heard murmurs about the trans tunnel being too small. not sure if thats right or not though.

no BAs had a factory 6 speed. the only one i know of was the FTG Tsuanmi wagon, but that had full BF looms

 

_________________

Nicco's M112 Blown, T-56 equipped EF
forums/viewtopic.php?t=68319

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 18, 2008 8:13 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 3

Joined: 14th Jul 2008

Location: laidley
QLD, Australia

decided to go with a change-over unit, i have a choice of two, $80 & $69, will be doing it this weekend, nicco & others thanks for the help and info.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 15 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 1:07 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names