Fordmods Logo

NA Fairlane Auto replacement question 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: NA Fairlane Auto replacement question
Posted: Fri Oct 04, 2013 4:57 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 84

Joined: 11th Oct 2012

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: 1989 Ford NA Fairlane

Location: Narre warren
VIC, Australia

Hi all,

I need to replace the 3 speed auto in my NA. Just wondering if a 4 speed from an ea would bolt straight on? Any problems I should know about?

Cheers!

 

_________________

NA Fairlane Build Thread
the-garage-f53/exqsme-s-na-fairlane-t117388.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NA Fairlane Auto replacement question
Posted: Sun Oct 20, 2013 9:48 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 84

Joined: 11th Oct 2012

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: 1989 Ford NA Fairlane

Location: Narre warren
VIC, Australia

Anyone?

 

_________________

NA Fairlane Build Thread
the-garage-f53/exqsme-s-na-fairlane-t117388.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NA Fairlane Auto replacement question
Posted: Sun Oct 20, 2013 9:51 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3705

Joined: 27th Sep 2006

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: ED Falcon

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: Leeton
NSW, Australia

I'd think it'd bolt straight on... I don't know much about the 3 speed... Bit before my learning experience (I own an ED)... Do they have a separate transmission controller or are they a manual box?

Controlling the 4 speed will be the difficult part... Depends whether you can fit the transmission controler, or if it isn't separate the computer to control the 4 speed...

Just for the record, a manual would be a hell of a lot easier... With my limited knowledge of the EA I'm not sure how you'll go about it...

Cheers,
Tim

 

_________________

93 Red ED 5spd Manual Build Thread

Performance: Complete AUII VCT Wiring & Power Train, Pacey Headers, 2.5" Exhaust, Exedy Clutch, DBA Rotors
Visuals: FG XR Wheel, XR Front, 17's, BA 5 Spd Shifter, BA Ghia Window Switches, NL Cluster
Tunes: 8" Pioneer Sub, JBL Speakers, Clarion Double DIN Headunit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NA Fairlane Auto replacement question
Posted: Sun Oct 20, 2013 9:57 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 38

Joined: 15th Oct 2013

Ride: Ford Fairmont

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

TimmyA wrote:
I'd think it'd bolt straight on... I don't know much about the 3 speed... Bit before my learning experience (I own an ED)... Do they have a separate transmission controller or are they a manual box?

Controlling the 4 speed will be the difficult part... Depends whether you can fit the transmission controler, or if it isn't separate the computer to control the 4 speed...

Just for the record, a manual would be a hell of a lot easier... With my limited knowledge of the EA I'm not sure how you'll go about it...

Cheers,
Tim



I can finally be of some use

To fit a BTR into a early EA

you will need the trans computer as the BTR has a separate computer , and a newer ECU would say as the 3 speed's ECU is just like a manual ECU

Also you will need to fabricate a new rear mount for the box cross member as they do not fit as the chassis is slightly different under neath on the mounting points

I would say EL ECU with a J3 tune in auto mode , and then install the complete BTR computer and loom and get it physically mounted and go from there
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NA Fairlane Auto replacement question
Posted: Sun Oct 20, 2013 10:05 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 38

Joined: 15th Oct 2013

Ride: Ford Fairmont

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

while on topic what does timmy reckon , would it be straight bolt in once the rear mount is sorted

All that would be needed would following the loom from a EF/EL and relocating it into the EA and running a different ECU with the wires needed in place plus the BTR computer , if two cars side by side shouldn't be to hard ?

two cars side by side = pick a part remembering how it all went lol
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NA Fairlane Auto replacement question
Posted: Mon Oct 21, 2013 9:05 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 84

Joined: 11th Oct 2012

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: 1989 Ford NA Fairlane

Location: Narre warren
VIC, Australia

Hey guys.

Thanks for all the replies, very much appreciated!

So it'd be simpler for me to just replace it with another 3 speed? Think that's what I might end up doing. :(

 

_________________

NA Fairlane Build Thread
the-garage-f53/exqsme-s-na-fairlane-t117388.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NA Fairlane Auto replacement question
Posted: Mon Oct 21, 2013 12:47 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 38

Joined: 15th Oct 2013

Ride: Ford Fairmont

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

Exqsme wrote:
Hey guys.

Thanks for all the replies, very much appreciated!

So it'd be simpler for me to just replace it with another 3 speed? Think that's what I might end up doing. :(


ya except i dont know how you would go finding a good condition 3 speed

Also having a BTR wouldn't save that much fuel with 4th gear its over rated lol
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NA Fairlane Auto replacement question
Posted: Mon Oct 21, 2013 1:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

Exqsme wrote:
Hey guys.

Thanks for all the replies, very much appreciated!

So it'd be simpler for me to just replace it with another 3 speed? Think that's what I might end up doing. :(


Yep.....the diff ratio will be 2.77 as well.....doesn't go real good with a 4sp BTR tranny.

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NA Fairlane Auto replacement question
Posted: Mon Oct 21, 2013 3:04 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 84

Joined: 11th Oct 2012

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: 1989 Ford NA Fairlane

Location: Narre warren
VIC, Australia

Alright, sweet.. 3 speed it is.... For now..... :twisted:

 

_________________

NA Fairlane Build Thread
the-garage-f53/exqsme-s-na-fairlane-t117388.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NA Fairlane Auto replacement question
Posted: Tue Oct 22, 2013 1:35 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 38

Joined: 15th Oct 2013

Ride: Ford Fairmont

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

I would like to hear more from members regarding how difficult it would be as the old 3 speed EA's would be going to waste with out this BTR conversion sorted the knowledge
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NA Fairlane Auto replacement question
Posted: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:21 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

slow_6 wrote:
while on topic what does timmy reckon , would it be straight bolt in once the rear mount is sorted

All that would be needed would following the loom from a EF/EL and relocating it into the EA and running a different ECU with the wires needed in place plus the BTR computer , if two cars side by side shouldn't be to hard ?

two cars side by side = pick a part remembering how it all went lol


No good using an EF loom as they are different to EA/EB/ED/EL
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NA Fairlane Auto replacement question
Posted: Tue Oct 22, 2013 6:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

SWC wrote:

No good using an EF loom as they are different to EA/EB/ED/EL


You reckon using an EA 4sp auto loom and TCU be easier ???....thats my thought.

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NA Fairlane Auto replacement question
Posted: Tue Oct 22, 2013 7:34 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2752

Joined: 22nd Jan 2009

Ride: '91 EB Wagoon

Location: Geeelong
VIC, Australia

cjh wrote:
SWC wrote:

No good using an EF loom as they are different to EA/EB/ED/EL


You reckon using an EA 4sp auto loom and TCU be easier ???....thats my thought.



yeah ya could use wiring loom from a say 90/91 EA


or buy the 3sp box i have here lol :roll:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NA Fairlane Auto replacement question
Posted: Tue Oct 22, 2013 7:36 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 84

Joined: 11th Oct 2012

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: 1989 Ford NA Fairlane

Location: Narre warren
VIC, Australia

Haha, working alright? And what would you charge for it?

 

_________________

NA Fairlane Build Thread
the-garage-f53/exqsme-s-na-fairlane-t117388.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NA Fairlane Auto replacement question
Posted: Sat Oct 26, 2013 12:42 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 38

Joined: 15th Oct 2013

Ride: Ford Fairmont

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

SWC wrote:
slow_6 wrote:
while on topic what does timmy reckon , would it be straight bolt in once the rear mount is sorted

All that would be needed would following the loom from a EF/EL and relocating it into the EA and running a different ECU with the wires needed in place plus the BTR computer , if two cars side by side shouldn't be to hard ?

two cars side by side = pick a part remembering how it all went lol


No good using an EF loom as they are different to EA/EB/ED/EL


What would you suggest in your opinion to fit a BTR to a 3 speed EA ?
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 4:35 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names