Fordmods Logo

Slealth Temp Gauge Idea 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Slealth Temp Gauge Idea
Posted: Sun May 06, 2012 11:25 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 385

Joined: 4th Nov 2011

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EL GLi

Location: Around The Place
NSW, Australia

I dont like the "modified" look, with gauges popping out all over the place. I just thought of this. With a two position switch you could use the coolant temperature gauge to view transmission temp.

Think of it, your coolant will rest right at about 190 degrees, and you are used to exactly where it points. With a temp sender wired to the secondary position of the switch a quick flip would show transmission temp.

What do you guys think? The ultimate stealth gauge.

i think it will be do able i will do up a circuit diagram idea later becouse all you will do is change wear the input is
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Slealth Temp Gauge Idea
Posted: Sun May 06, 2012 11:31 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

Bare in mind that if it is going in a stock car, the ECU reads the Engine temp, the second you switch to the Trans, the thermos may trigger and engine run richer/leaner to compensate.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Slealth Temp Gauge Idea
Posted: Sun May 06, 2012 12:01 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 385

Joined: 4th Nov 2011

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EL GLi

Location: Around The Place
NSW, Australia

iv thought that one through and all you would have to do is cut the wiring on the dash side of the ecu i believe the dash should provide the + side if not you would add another wire on to the switch

edit: as stated here http://www.naxja.org/forum/archive/inde ... 09211.html

its do able as long as you use same sensor desinged for gauge, you can also have more than 2 inputs so you could have

oil temp
Trans Temp
Coolant Temp

Maybe Brakes if used in racing? idk on that one though
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Slealth Temp Gauge Idea
Posted: Sun May 06, 2012 6:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

Trans temps can run up to 120*C....or higher if towing.

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Slealth Temp Gauge Idea
Posted: Sun May 06, 2012 6:06 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

cjh wrote:
Trans temps can run up to 120*C....or higher if towing.


Thats what I thought.

Sure he could put another sender in and keep that guage in a medium level.

With 562rwkw the last thing I'd watch out for is a cooked tranny. ?¿

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Slealth Temp Gauge Idea
Posted: Sun May 06, 2012 6:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Unfortunately, the temp is sent from the ECU to the cluster along the DATA line, which also sends other info to the cluster. This means you can't isolate just the water temp signal as there is not a specific wire that goes to just an input for the temp gauge. The plugs do not have a pinout for it at all.

EA-ED models do have a separate wire for the temp gauge so it would be feasible in that instance.

Cheers
BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Slealth Temp Gauge Idea
Posted: Tue May 08, 2012 2:03 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 385

Joined: 4th Nov 2011

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EL GLi

Location: Around The Place
NSW, Australia

cheers benj il look into it abit more if you could isolate the cluster on the pinouts on the temp gauge you could do it

highest iv seen my coolant is 130ish normally sits 90is with no coolant atm
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Slealth Temp Gauge Idea
Posted: Tue May 08, 2012 8:30 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 57

Posts: 102

Joined: 19th Dec 2010

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Futura / FG XR6 / DF LTD

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Benji's right it is a field bus , what your'e proposing wont work I'm afraid . Worse still it may back fed and do damage to your cluster .
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Slealth Temp Gauge Idea
Posted: Tue May 08, 2012 9:16 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 385

Joined: 4th Nov 2011

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EL GLi

Location: Around The Place
NSW, Australia

to eliminate the back feeding you would install diodes
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:16 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names