Fordmods Logo

Factory headshield with extractors 

Page 2 of 2 [ 18 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

Posted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:29 pm 
Oompa Loompa

Ride: GT MKII

QLD, Australia

Heatsoak is sure an issue. Especially to the turbo people, but unfortunately not my problem.

I'm no expert, but I've been messing with this theory for a while. Biggest problem I figure is the fact that the good ol ford has a metal inlet manifold bolted (almost) directly to the rather hot head. You'll find a lot of "modern" cars have a plastic manifold, which looks cheap and nasty, but the inlet temps are a lot less. The falcon BBM manifold hits about 70 degrees C on a normal QLD day, and the metal temp moves upwards to 85 plus in traffic. I can't see why it wouldn't reach the water temp (93 degrees??? ) if idled long enough.

I've used an aquarium digital temp unit to measure intake air temps in the inlet on my AU, and with a 25 degree day, the air is already 40 degrees odd at the throttle body ( BA inlet, heat wrapped, XR snorkel ) and this is with the throttle body metal temp at about 50 degrees. This is average operating temp, average surburban speeds. I haven't been game to drill a hole in the alloy manifold for testing yet, but I assume the air will be 10 degrees odd cooler than the metal by the time it hits the head, so it gets up towards 80 degrees!!!

In comparison my wifes PT cruiser with a plastic inlet manifold is only at 30 degrees at the throttle body ( plastic airbox, cold air pipe ) and the plastic temp next to the head is only about 50 degrees!!!!

So the ford BBM/alloy inlet is a air oven.