Fordmods Logo

Plugs? Can I use 6cyl Holden plugs in 6cyl Ford? 

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

Post subject: Plugs? Can I use 6cyl Holden plugs in 6cyl Ford?
Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2016 6:11 pm 
Fordmods Newbie

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Holden VPR, Ford EF, Holden VT

NSW, Australia

I bought spark plugs for my Holden VPR & never used them, So now I need new plugs in my Ford EF can I use those bought for the VPR in the EF?..they are just yr basic NKG sparks, the numbers on the box are as follows: 4871 (in bold type seperate to the next set of numbers) BPR6EFS-15.. yep I know it sounds like a dumb question but as I'm a starving artist I can save a little $$ here and get the old girl some new leads. I have rang super cheap autos but the idiots there had no idea when I asked them about the gap & if I could get the ratio difference between Holden & Ford, all I got was the sound of wind blowing through a tunnel. Thanks a bundle for any help, 1996 EF Ford Futura thanks you too she's running like a bag of s**t at the moment. Oh lastly any words of wisdom or tricks when doing welsh plugs? Never done em before & ive been told of ya don't get em in straight yr stuffed... so here goes please help... cheers Jennifer Davis :D

Post subject: Re: Plugs? Can I use 6cyl Holden plugs in 6cyl Ford?
Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2016 8:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 22 images

Ride: AU2 XR8 ute & 91 EA bitsa

VIC, Australia

Welcome to fordmods Jennifer.

I did a quick check on the plugs on the NGK Australia website and attached the specs for both.
As you can see the VP plug is 1mm longer and a different heat range to the EF plug. The VP plugs also have a larger gap than the EF.

I would recommend getting the correct plugs for the EF to avoid any engine problems. The correct gap for them is 1.1mm or 43 thou.

With the welch plugs, they're not hard to replace. Here's a youtube clip that explains what to do.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=us5kzuRj7Z4

Attachments:
EF plug type.PNG