Fordmods Logo

5x7 in rear of fairlane 

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

Post subject: 5x7 in rear of fairlane
Posted: Sun Aug 06, 2017 12:27 am 
Fordmods Newbie

Ride: Ford Faairlane Ghia AU 2

VIC, Australia

VERY NEW NEWBIE HERE, i have a au fairlane now and i want to put replace stock 5 x 7 with 6 x 7 in the rear of it, just wondering what you guys would do it? there is a gas tank so i think grinding a larger hole is not possible.

Post subject: Re: 5x7 in rear of fairlane
Posted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 5:24 pm 
Fordmods Newbie

WA, Australia

It's illegal to modify your parcel shelf metal so if you ever get defected and they check, your car won t pass. Also 6x9's crank so loud that they take away from your front stage and make your system sound crap. I'm actually putting 6x9's in the front doors of my get around lancer right now. I'm running 6.5" component and 6x9 in the door as a midbass woofer.

I'd run a 6.5" with an mdf adapter at the rear or keep the 5x7 standard and spend the money on your front stage if you can.

Posted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 5:48 pm 
Fordmods Newbie

VIC, Australia

I have 6x9s already and was trying to save some money, do you mean modify as in the structural integrity of the shelf? cause i have 5x7 to 6x9 adapters, they are crappy and made of plastic. and was going to reinforce it with 6cm Wooden spacers because the adapters Cone like shape let it fit right in. Also I was gonna make a few choice holes in the front for 6.5", would the 6x9 still make the system sound bad?

Posted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 7:19 pm 
Fordmods Junkie

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

VIC, Australia

lesterlol wrote: