Fordmods Logo

Turbo noob 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

Post subject: Turbo noob
Posted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 4:49 pm 
Parts Gopher

Ride: AUII Forte

ACT, Australia

(Yes, i am 17, but insurance is not a problem)

I have read "turbo EA project", but I dont have a grasp of some of the names of the parts they mention, I am new to turbo's (I have read quite a few articles on Turbos, but still dont 100% understand how to install it, what other mods i need ect...). Also, as i have a stock AUII Forte (Auto Tranny), I was wondering, what type of mods would I need to do to the engine for it to handle the power at 10psi or around that? Im not looking for more power then 220rwkw, anything between 150rwkw and 220rwkw would be fantastic.

One more thing, I am planning to mount an intercooler at the front, so how would i connect the intercooler pipe going into the engine to the actual engine? I have no idea on were and how the connections work, so it may sound a lil stupid. Its not my idea to get flamed, I just hope i get more useful info. Cheers

Posted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 5:15 pm 
Fordmods Audio and Turbo Expert

Ride: FG Turbo Territoty Ghia

VIC, Australia

In response to your question there has been a nubmer of threds on begining a turbo set-up.

Try a search and chew through some of that info.

The stock internals will be fine at that level but you will need
- Iinjectors
- Fuel Pump
- Fuel pressre reg
- Turbo
- Intercooler
- waste gate (unless internally gated)
- Turbo manifold
- chip or some computing system
- Exhaust
- Cam

I would not attempt a turbo project unless your quite competent mechanically, either get it done by someone (est cost for your desired set-up $8,000 - $10,000)