Fordmods Logo

What ECU's can i use in my EB2 falcon 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: What ECU's can i use in my EB2 falcon
Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2009 4:36 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 114

Joined: 27th Dec 2008

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EB Falcon

Location: Bundoora
VIC, Australia

i will explain the issue i have a stock eb engine with a few little things done i have comp headers xr6 head au intakke and i have hooked everything up and before i turn the key i want to get the computers the best that i can get em i wanted to get an EL ECU but do i have any other option..?

 

_________________

'Hoon- related' offences are:
Improper use of a motor vehicle, where the driver has intentionally caused one or more tyres to lose traction.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: What ECU's can i use in my EB2 falcon
Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2009 6:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Hi.

Your Factory Ford ECU options are, EB or ED XR6 ECU or an EL XR6 or EL Fairmont Ghia ECU.

Cheers
BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: What ECU's can i use in my EB2 falcon
Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2009 6:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 6746

Joined: 13th Mar 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane

Location: Bathurst
NSW, Australia

All ford Ecu's will fit.











BUT only the ones benji said will work.

 

_________________

R.I.P Tobias my son.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: What ECU's can i use in my EB2 falcon
Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2009 7:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Actually, Froudey, that is not correct at all.

EF ECUs will not fit as they have a different number of pins.

AU ECUs will not fit.


BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: What ECU's can i use in my EB2 falcon
Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2009 7:14 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 114

Joined: 27th Dec 2008

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EB Falcon

Location: Bundoora
VIC, Australia

ben my name is danny you can call me papak, man your top stuff your answer helped me out so much... ! thanks buddy once agane i know who to come to when i need some answers.

 

_________________

'Hoon- related' offences are:
Improper use of a motor vehicle, where the driver has intentionally caused one or more tyres to lose traction.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: What ECU's can i use in my EB2 falcon
Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2009 7:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 6746

Joined: 13th Mar 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane

Location: Bathurst
NSW, Australia

BenJ wrote:
Actually, Froudey, that is not correct at all.

EF ECUs will not fit as they have a different number of pins.

AU ECUs will not fit.


BenJ



really oh ok i just learnt something, lol

ignore my previous post :P

 

_________________

R.I.P Tobias my son.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: What ECU's can i use in my EB2 falcon
Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2009 7:19 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 114

Joined: 27th Dec 2008

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EB Falcon

Location: Bundoora
VIC, Australia

ECU's and a funny topic, i love onld school c ars with no ECU it all comes down to how smart you are and how good you are and self tuneing and what not these days you need a computer to turn on a light in the car.... and my eb is a s**t i dont want to spend 10000 bucks on it its not worth it i just want something that will get me to work and back and a few nice long road trips. the mods i hae done are nothing to talk about that the pub about but im happy that i did everything by myself if you get what i mean.

 

_________________

'Hoon- related' offences are:
Improper use of a motor vehicle, where the driver has intentionally caused one or more tyres to lose traction.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: What ECU's can i use in my EB2 falcon
Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2009 7:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Mate, that is how I started out.

My first and foremost objective with my car, is to be a reliable daily driver, that can still perform basic car type tasks, including long trips, towing a trailer and in the case of the wagon, carting the dogs around.

All the other mods work around that principal, and can not compromise those objectives.

Keep up the good work.

Cheers
BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: What ECU's can i use in my EB2 falcon
Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:49 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 114

Joined: 27th Dec 2008

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EB Falcon

Location: Bundoora
VIC, Australia

EL Fairmont Ghia ECU is that my best bet, coz i have one now well not yet its getting sent to me i got it for 50 bucks, "perfect working order" i was told over the phone, i hope so anyways, now my best bet is to get a mod chip and all im running is:

EB XR6 head with a 2222549 crow cam
AU intake manifold
comp headers

what chip should i run on my ECU and where can i get it dyno tuned spot on im from melbounre victoria i think the chip needs to be dynoed im not sure about these things this is all new waters for me

 

_________________

'Hoon- related' offences are:
Improper use of a motor vehicle, where the driver has intentionally caused one or more tyres to lose traction.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: What ECU's can i use in my EB2 falcon
Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 1667

Joined: 23rd Dec 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Boosted ED XR6, EBII Mont Wgn

Power: 252 rwkw

Location: Mildura
VIC, Australia

HERE this should prove helpful..

 

_________________

Image
[SEXYR-6] ED XR6 T5 Turbo Build
[EBW-347] EB Wagon V8 Stroker Build
FordMods Member #1761

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: What ECU's can i use in my EB2 falcon
Posted: Fri Mar 20, 2009 8:27 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 114

Joined: 27th Dec 2008

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EB Falcon

Location: Bundoora
VIC, Australia

ok guys i understand this has been talked about a hell of alot.. but sadly search doesnt work the best and i am haveing the hardest time getting my head around everything... :( ok now i will start with what i need help with (lets forget the fact im a DUMFUK!)

i got an 1993 eb falcon i like the note and power it had with just the comp header and 2 1/2 inch ehaust from cat back. i have car parts laying around. ( i want ot start to put em to good use)

parts inculed:
-complete au engine
-eb xr6 head with a crow cam in it 2222549
-el ECU 6DDA 08/20/96 96da-12a650-da eec-v (MIND YOU I DONT KNOW IF IT WILL DO WHAT I WANT IT TO DO)
i took the AU inlet manifold off and i want to put it on my eb and i want the el ECU to run everything.

QUESTIONS?!?!??!
1) will the EL ECU run the crow cam with no power chip
2) i know the EL ECU fits in with no issues but can someone give me a picture of what ll the pins do for the EL ECU and my EB2 1993 ecu
3) does anyone know what my ECU is and i have read the above posts link and the ecu i have isnt listed!
4)who ever has hands on expernce in this PM me and i would like to give you a call and we can have a chat about it?

WHAT I PLAN TO DO AFTER GETING EVERYTHING DOWN PAT:
start a new post and have everything step but step with pictures to help out other poeple that want to do the same thing i am doing now.

 

_________________

'Hoon- related' offences are:
Improper use of a motor vehicle, where the driver has intentionally caused one or more tyres to lose traction.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: What ECU's can i use in my EB2 falcon
Posted: Sat Mar 21, 2009 12:30 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Gidday

Your ECU is an EL Fairmont ECU. This has the standard fuel maps etc, but the auto mapping would be designed to work with a 3.27 diff ratio.

RE the AU BBM. This is not able to be used due to the different configuration of the Map and Air Temp sensors ECT. You will need to source a BBM from an EF or EL and mod the wiring from your log manifold.

I am not sure if the EL ECU will run the Crow Cam. It will depend on if it is mild or wild.

I have replied to your PM.

Cheers
BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: What ECU's can i use in my EB2 falcon
Posted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 7:38 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 114

Joined: 27th Dec 2008

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EB Falcon

Location: Bundoora
VIC, Australia

can i unplug my eb ecu and plug this el ecu in with no isses teh car is pretty std atm well the car work fine withe el ecu and i will put an 3.27 diff in it or what ever works best with this ecu i have

 

_________________

'Hoon- related' offences are:
Improper use of a motor vehicle, where the driver has intentionally caused one or more tyres to lose traction.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 4:10 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names