Fordmods Logo

Auto to manual loom trick?? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Auto to manual loom trick??
Posted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 11:05 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 159

Joined: 13th Dec 2008

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Wagon/ 1967 XR

Location: Melb East
VIC, Australia

Just wondering if anyone knows exactly what wires need to be bridged ect to trick the auto loom and ecu to thinking its a manual for a AU? or is it the same as EF/EL?
Done a few searches and could find anything for au's any help appreciated.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Auto to manual loom trick??
Posted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 11:11 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 3045

Joined: 26th Nov 2008

Ride: 1975 XB Falcon 500

Location: In the drivers seat
SA, Australia

You need to use resistors, and if you dont get the right resistance you will get problems.

I would recommend getting a Manual ECU and you will not get any problems.

I think Ash cook has one you can use, shoot him a PM.

 

_________________

Image
http://www.facebook.com/Ford1975

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Auto to manual loom trick??
Posted: Thu Dec 10, 2009 9:31 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1320

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

you can use the auto ecu it will be fine.
Lookup Troymans posts/thread as hes got all the info there that i gave him on this topic...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Auto to manual loom trick??
Posted: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:16 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 3045

Joined: 26th Nov 2008

Ride: 1975 XB Falcon 500

Location: In the drivers seat
SA, Australia

I dont believe that the AU wiring is the same as EF EL. I still say get a AU manual ECU, surely you can find one around for around $150. I have seen too many instances on here with people having problems using the auto ECU with resistor trick.

 

_________________

Image
http://www.facebook.com/Ford1975

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Auto to manual loom trick??
Posted: Thu Dec 10, 2009 1:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 747

Joined: 8th Nov 2009

Ride: ford au

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

im pretty sure the manual trick only works for the e series as the au series ecu learns around it

 

_________________

Daily Driver, Series 1 Au Forte

Quote:
Posted by Xcabbi, Does it slap or rattle? Rattle is more to do with timing chains and tensioners. Slap is more to do with lifters, rings, bearings or GENIII boat anchors

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Auto to manual loom trick??
Posted: Thu Dec 10, 2009 4:58 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 159

Joined: 13th Dec 2008

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Wagon/ 1967 XR

Location: Melb East
VIC, Australia

cheers yeah i used a manual one on mine which is def the way to go, but this is for a mates ute whose on a tight a** budget, will try ashcook first if not will see how we go.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Auto to manual loom trick??
Posted: Fri Dec 11, 2009 2:07 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 365

Joined: 22nd Nov 2007

Ride: FG MK2 XR6T

Location: Bexley, Sydney
NSW, Australia

While we're on the subject, will a manual XR8 ECU(S1, S2, S3???) work on my ghia if i converted to manual?

I was going to use the resistor trick as I presumed being a Ghia it controls more than what the XR8 one would(traction control, anything else??) but the posts above make me abit worried.

 

_________________

Formerly LV XR5 Turbo, AU Fairmont Ghia V8 & EBII Fairmont I6.

Now......
Feb 2012 FG MK2 XR6 Turbo
- Manual
- Luxury Pack

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Auto to manual loom trick??
Posted: Fri Dec 11, 2009 4:40 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 159

Joined: 13th Dec 2008

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Wagon/ 1967 XR

Location: Melb East
VIC, Australia

anyone else know where i might find a series 2 manual vct ecu? or does anyone know a good place you can get the manual program re-mapped into his existing auto ecu around the eastern suburbs melbourne and a rough cost?
cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Auto to manual loom trick??
Posted: Fri Dec 11, 2009 6:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 747

Joined: 8th Nov 2009

Ride: ford au

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

i think ford should be able to reflash it to manual for you or a tuner will be able to do it

 

_________________

Daily Driver, Series 1 Au Forte

Quote:
Posted by Xcabbi, Does it slap or rattle? Rattle is more to do with timing chains and tensioners. Slap is more to do with lifters, rings, bearings or GENIII boat anchors

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Auto to manual loom trick??
Posted: Fri Dec 11, 2009 7:01 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 3045

Joined: 26th Nov 2008

Ride: 1975 XB Falcon 500

Location: In the drivers seat
SA, Australia

sd1800 wrote:
While we're on the subject, will a manual XR8 ECU(S1, S2, S3???) work on my ghia if i converted to manual?

I was going to use the resistor trick as I presumed being a Ghia it controls more than what the XR8 one would(traction control, anything else??) but the posts above make me abit worried.



I thought the ghia ECU's have XR fuel maps already. But you want to do a manual conversion and Ghias did not come with Manual right?

 

_________________

Image
http://www.facebook.com/Ford1975

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Auto to manual loom trick??
Posted: Sat Dec 12, 2009 2:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 2515

Joined: 27th Mar 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: FG MkII Xr6t Ute

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

frd906n wrote:
i think ford should be able to reflash it to manual for you or a tuner will be able to do it


I thought this was also the case?

 

_________________

EVL098 wrote:
Cramping in the hand from having it on your Wang for an excessive period of time is a definate con.
Seriously do people google "f**k up modifications for Fords owned by Jews" and get linked straight to this site nowadays?

AU,factory fitted tickford kit/IRS, t5,Sports ryder/KYB: gone.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Auto to manual loom trick??
Posted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 12:27 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 365

Joined: 22nd Nov 2007

Ride: FG MK2 XR6T

Location: Bexley, Sydney
NSW, Australia

XR-Lane wrote:
sd1800 wrote:
While we're on the subject, will a manual XR8 ECU(S1, S2, S3???) work on my ghia if i converted to manual?

I was going to use the resistor trick as I presumed being a Ghia it controls more than what the XR8 one would(traction control, anything else??) but the posts above make me abit worried.



I thought the ghia ECU's have XR fuel maps already. But you want to do a manual conversion and Ghias did not come with Manual right?


Correct!

 

_________________

Formerly LV XR5 Turbo, AU Fairmont Ghia V8 & EBII Fairmont I6.

Now......
Feb 2012 FG MK2 XR6 Turbo
- Manual
- Luxury Pack

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Auto to manual loom trick??
Posted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 12:34 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 3045

Joined: 26th Nov 2008

Ride: 1975 XB Falcon 500

Location: In the drivers seat
SA, Australia

sd1800 wrote:
XR-Lane wrote:
sd1800 wrote:
While we're on the subject, will a manual XR8 ECU(S1, S2, S3???) work on my ghia if i converted to manual?

I was going to use the resistor trick as I presumed being a Ghia it controls more than what the XR8 one would(traction control, anything else??) but the posts above make me abit worried.



I thought the ghia ECU's have XR fuel maps already. But you want to do a manual conversion and Ghias did not come with Manual right?


Correct!


You shouldn't have any problems as long as you make sure you get the right series. And get the manual loom.

 

_________________

Image
http://www.facebook.com/Ford1975

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 2:42 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names